General

Wandering the Moors

Some of you may have guessed… I am a fool for Wuthering Heights.  The blog’s name says it all, but since I spell my name with a “K” it’s not as obvious as it could be.

Why do I love Wuthering Heights so much?  I have Pat Benatar to thank for that.   Years ago, I wanted to own the Pat Benatar song “Hit Me With Your Best Shot,” so I listened to the sample tracks on the CD Crimes of Passion.  The third-last song was called “Wuthering Heights.”  Oh.  My. God.  I went to YouTube and played the song on loop until my hour at the library was up. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZcLMVCsH14)

When I left the library, I had the book under my arm.  I loved it, and started watching the movies.  I still have two versions left to see: the Andrea Arnold version, and the one from 1992.  I hate the 1939 version.  I love Masterpiece Theatre version with Tom Hardy and Charlotte Riley.  The 1970 version with Timothy Dalton has some problems, but is still worth a look.

But that’s not really an answer.  A big part of it, I suppose, is that I went in not expecting “the greatest love story of all time,” and I read it on my own time, instead of being forced to do it by my horrible 11th-grade English teacher.  I was able to take the novel as what it was– a dark, early Gothic story featuring troubled romance.

If you go into anything expecting it to be the best X of Y, you’re bound for endless disappointment, wandering the moors with the ghost, wondering how it all happened.  Best to go with the flow, and say afterward, “Gee, that was the best X of Y!”

Not that Wuthering Heights is… it just happens to be my favorite classic novel.  Give the song a listen, give one of the movies a try (don’t bother with Sir Larry and Merle Oberon), pick up the book.   Or try the Caribbean version, Windward Heights.  It’s different, but good as well.  You may be pleasantly surprised by what you find at Mr. Heathcliff’s dwelling-place.

Standard

Leave a Reply

