General

Something’s Not Quite Right

When I got to graduate school one of the more experienced professors told me, “If all your students have an average of 70 in your class, there’s something wrong with your pedagogy.”

She’s right.  And I’m probably still not doing something right because when I grade on a scale of 1-4, the average grade is 2.  When I grade on a scale of 100, my average is 87.  Presumably, though, I’ll improve with experience.

However, having too many people “pass” is a problem, too.  And I’m not talking about my students– I don’t want them to fail.  I’m talking about the Justice System.  If only 11% of grand juries every say that charges should be brought against the person being investigated, that’s a problem.  Because more than half the time, the correct person is not arrested for a crime committed, and as high as 42% of people arrested confess to crimes they did not commit.  You do the math.

Something is indeed rotten in the states of United, my friends.  But what to do?  We can’t cut that piece out and throw it away like we would a bruise on an apple, and violence never solves anything.  In fact, violence solves nothing. Awareness is a good start, like with Social Media, but it’s too new for people to take it seriously, and being aware only gets us so far.  There’s no easy answer, and it will probably take time.

We’ve come a long way from making a man run with a red-hot iron held in his bare hands to determine his innocence or guilt (an ordeal by fire), but there is still much work to be done.  We should turn our thoughts toward creating a solution rather than giving in to anger.  And in the meantime, this prayer for peace by one of history’s most beloved pacifists (St. Francis of Assisi) couldn’t hurt.

“Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is error, the truth;
Where there is doubt, the faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
And where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
Grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled, as to console;
To be understood, as to understand;
To be loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

