General

Coldernell, USA

I love winter.  A scarf-loving blonde of Eastern European descent kind of has to, but even I admit that the current frigid conditions are a bit much.  Grey cold is no fun, and clear blue cold is worse.  Clouds keep some of the heat in, after all, and it has to be a little warmer for precipitation.  In the meantime, what to do?

Well, some things are obvious… look after the pipes, make sure the car is gassed up, dress sensibly (whatever the hell that means),but what else?  I try to use the oven more often.  When I was at my parents’ house, we lit a lot of candles (that’s verboten in my apartment, unfortunately), drank copious amounts of hot tea, and wrapped up in blankets.  A lot of those things, I’m still doing, and I really wish I could have some candles.  And a pet that doesn’t breathe underwater.

Anyway, as long as we’re collectively stuck in Coldernell, USA, we’ve got to get creative and make our own heat.  Bundling up, tea, and whatnot only get you so far.  You’ve got to add activity whether it’s vigorous exercise (what kind I’ll leave to you), those tough chores that will have to get done sometime anyway, or rocking out to some great tunes on the device of your choice.

You could also adopt an “if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” attitude by watching Chilly Willy cartoons as you rage against the windchill factor.  If nothing else, it’ll cheer you up (http://www.chillywillyfan.com/video.php).

Standard

Leave a Reply

